Love like Rain

Matthew 5:45-47 “…He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. If you love those who love you, what reward will you get…and if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others?” (NIV)*

Matthew 5:42 “Give to the one who asks you…” (NIV)*

IMG_0352

Rain doesn’t choose on whom to fall. It shows no partiality to those with umbrellas or galoshes. It just pours down uncensored.

He sends His love like rain. Rain falls on the righteous and unrighteous. Rain falls on those who love Him, and those who don’t love Him.

If I love only those who love me, what good is that? Ah…but to love those unlike me, to be generous to those who ask something of me, not expecting anything back. To maybe even go without because I gave? Ouch.

There’s perfect love. The cross of sacrifice that costs. Easy love carries no cross.

IMG_0350

Love like He loves. Perfectly.

Matthew 5:48 “Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” (NIV)*

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986 Tyndale House, Inc., Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

