Treasure to be had

Proverbs 2:1-5 “…if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding, and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.” (NIV)*

I pray the walls of my heart collapse, barriers removed that keep me from accepting His Word. And may His truths find a resting place in my heart…stored up to stay.

 

IMG_0356

Then, my ear must bend to wisdom and my heart to understanding. To long for it. Am I calling for insight and crying for understanding…as for hidden treasure? Searching for treasure would find me deliberate. I’d have a map in hand. A plan. Not a lot would steer me off course.

He is faithful. If I but seek, He’ll give understanding and knowledge of Himself. He’ll reveal insights into His Word, treasure worth more than silver and gold…treasure that sparkles alive.

Precious promises and life giving jewels of truth await those who search in expectation…as on a treasure hunt.

There is treasure to be had. Open the map of the Word, find your starting point, and daily dig.

IMG_0357

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House, Inc., Wheaton, Illinois 60189.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

