My Soul’s Rest

Matthew 11:28-29 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (NIV)*

IMG_0388

The soil of life demands

much strength to pull the load.

Burdens can be heavy

And weariness drains the soul.

………………..

There’s One who offers another way,

He bids come, learn from Him.

A gentle and humble teacher is He,

Rest waits, those letting Him in.

………………..

Gently and humbly, He trains how to go

Signaling when to aim left, and then right.

He whispers when to say yes and no,

Sifting burdens light.

………………..

See His tear streaked, stricken face

My gain at His great loss.

Living, He shoulders my daily yoke,

Dying, He carried my cross.

………………..

photo and poem by Patty Perkins

Matthew 11:30 “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (NIV)*

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

