Basket of Hope

Exodus 2:3 “…she got a papyrus basket for him and coated it with tar and pitch. Then she placed the child in it and put it among the reeds…” (NIV)*

IMG_0424

Hope contained in papyrus

For God, this fine child spared

Hidden among the reeds

Deliverance awaits his care.

………………..

If I could stay in that basket

Placed in waters still

Nestled in God’s woven plan

Sheltered in His will.

………………..

Whatever threats be spoken

Or arrows thrown my way

I’d float secure in papyrus

And for His purposes, wait.

………………..

photos and poem by Patty Perkins

IMG_0420

Exodus 2:10 “When the child grew older, she took him to Pharaoh’s daughter and he became her son. She named him Moses, saying, ‘I drew him out of the water.'” (NIV)*

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

