Call it Beautiful

Matthew 26:7 “A woman came to Him with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, which she poured on His head…” (NIV)*

IMG_0489

Jesus called it beautiful

Disciples deemed it waste

Alabaster jar poured out

Air, perfume laced.

………………..

Costly ointment poured

Scent seeping through hair

Divine appointment obeyed

For burial, prepared.

………………..

Oh, to be willing

His purposes fulfill

To pour costly fragrance

Leaving alabaster jar, spilled.

………………..

poem and photo by Patty Perkins

………………..

Matthew 26:10 “…she has done a beautiful thing to me.” (NIV)*

Matthew 26:12 “When she poured this perfume on my body, she did it to prepare me for burial.” (NIV)*

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

