Stepping in

Joshua 3:8 “Tell the priests who carry the ark of the covenant: ‘When you reach the edge of the Jordan’s waters, go and stand in the river.'” (NIV)*

Joshua 3:15-16 “Now the Jordan is at flood stage all during harvest. Yet as soon as the priests who carried the ark reached the Jordan and their feet touched the water’s edge, the water from upstream stopped flowing…” (NIV)*

Barren River Lake (photo by Patty Perkins)

Barren River Lake (photo by Patty Perkins)

Would I believe God and move forward

…if it looked impossible?

If I received word that God would make a way

…would I believe?

Would I put my feet in Jordan’s rushing waters

…teeming at flood stage?

It was a step of faith. I imagine hearts pounding loud and toes stretching stiff just before placing them into the water. Was there a pause? Nervous whispering among the priests?

All they had was God’s Word through Joshua. They believed. They obeyed. The water stopped flowing when their feet touched water’s edge. They knew what happened at the Red Sea, now it was their turn to walk through on dry ground. And they did…every last one of them.

Joshua 4:24 “He did this so that all the peoples of the earth might know that the hand of the Lord is powerful and so that you might always fear the Lord your God.” (NIV)*

Lord, when it’s time to step into waters you’ve ordained…help me to believe!

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

2 responses to “Stepping in

  • greenlightlady

    Patty, it seems He specializes in waiting until the last moment to hold back the drowning tides, so that we can learn to take that step of faith that pleases Him so much… This post encourages me to keep stepping forward – thank you!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  • Patty Perkins

    I so appreciate your input. I guess it wouldn’t be faith if we knew everything in advance…blessings on your day!

Leave a Reply

