Do tell

Judges 2:10 “…another generation grew up, who knew neither the Lord nor what he had done for Israel.” (NIV)*

The Piano (photo by Patty Perkins)

The Piano (photo by Patty Perkins)

Oh…do tell.

Sing the songs

Hum the lullabies

Hymns of God’s great love

Read the stories always

Speak the words out loud

That future generations know

The faithfulness of God.

………………..

Proverbs 14:1 “The wise woman builds her house…” (NIV)*

………………..

Oh…be wise.

Lay foundations strong

Raise walls of truth

Paint with grace

Store wisdom deep

Open windows of hope

May Christ ever be

the cornerstone.

………………..

by Patty Perkins

………………..

I love the way Judges 2:10 went hand-in-hand with Proverbs 14:1 in today’s reading of The One Year Bible.

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Do tell

  • foreverhis777

    Beautiful, Patty! And I am drawn into the photo of the ivories. I have been playing the piano since I was five and nothing sounds like Amazing Grace with a few sour notes. 🙂 I am rusty!

  • Patty Perkins

    I love piano music in the house…mine is rusty, too. My oldest plays the guitar and sings…blesses me!:)

  • scriptordeus

    A timely challenge for every Christian parent of small people. I am a grandmother to such small people and daily pray for their mothers and fathers to be faithful in passing on their rich spiritual heritage.
    Beautiful golden piano photo! My daughter is a piano teacher … she would love this.

Leave a comment