the pleasant land

Psalm 106:24-25 “Then they despised the pleasant land; they did not believe his promise. They grumbled in their tents and did not obey the Lord.” (NIV)*

Kentucky (photo by Patty Perkins)

Kentucky (photo by Patty Perkins)

why is it I forget

what he has done,

and don’t believe

what he will do?

……….

why this grumbling

over life ordinary,

am i so yoked

to the temporary?

……….

i still need him

on a path serene,

to keep me focused

on things unseen.

……….

stay ever near–

oh, that I would

keep following you,

in the pleasant land of good.

……….

by patty perkins

……….

Psalm 106:28 “They yoked themselves to the Baal of Peor…” (NIV)*

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

8 responses to “the pleasant land

Leave a Reply

