Would that suffice?

John 6:30-31″So they asked him, ‘What miraculous sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do? Our forefathers ate the manna in the desert…'” (NIV)*

IMG_0964

If I created a garden of petals and vines

Provided seed for bread and fruit for wine

Unleashed a rainbow across the sky

Carved a canyon deep, shaped a mountainside…

………………..

Tell me, would that suffice?

………………..

If I sprinkled stars on an icing sky

Lit a giant nightlight in the dark outside

Woke the sun every morning on the early side

Packed grains of sand where the oceans tide…

………………..

Tell me, would that suffice?

………………..

by Patty Perkins

They were stuck in disbelief and asked for a sign of mere manna. Then, they would believe. Not. The very bread of life was within their reach…yet they couldn’t grasp him. They heard him speak…yet didn’t know him. They saw his face…yet didn’t believe. What more could he do?

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

7 responses to “Would that suffice?

  • Caddo-Jael

    You know, I used to read these passages and wonder, too–a bit judgmentally, I confess. But I look at how I was “before”, and realize I didn’t see/hear/believe Him, either. Until we receive the gift of revelation, we just don’t get it. God bless you BIG today–love, sis Caddo

  • melodylowes

    I just read this passage this morning, too! 🙂 And I echo Caddo’s thoughts – I used to pass judgement on the Pharisees in all the stories – not realizing I have been one myself. Your words poke holes in all the ‘bargain-striking’ I have tried over the years. God doesn’t need to ‘prove’ anything – He has already done it all…

  • Heidi Viars

    thanks Patty for this … I too was so sick and blind at one time … and still am in many ways… I am in awe of the patience of my God and His mercy and grace … undeserved for sure

  • Patty Perkins

    It’s all grace that any of us see…your words brought to mind these words penned by John Newton: “Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost but now am found, was blind, but now, I see.” Held in grace today!

Leave a Reply

