Like lemonade

Psalm 119:74 “May those who fear you rejoice when they see me, for I have put my hope in your word.” (NIV)*

Lemonade.

Lemonade. (Photo credit: Wikipedia) a pitcher of lemonade

may i be a pitcher

of lemonade

a long cool drink

for sunny hot days.

…..

just enough sugar

the sour to sweeten.

just enough water

to dilute but not weaken.

…..

contained in a pitcher

easy to grasp

words of hope poured

to those who ask.

…..

by patty perkins

…..

It took years before I could drink powdered lemonade. My mother used to squeeze juice from real lemons. Sugar and water were added, with yellow round slices gracing the top of the pitcher. Aaahh…that’s what lemonade is supposed to look and taste like!

Good lemonade requires a lot of sugar (it bears repeating, a lot of sugar…) and just the right amount of water. Floating peels give authenticity.

So too…may my words be a refreshment to others. The whole lemon truth would be too sour and turn people away. Sugar and water have to be added. Being real could be the lemon peels I allow others to see. And, lemonade needs to be in an easy-to-pour pitcher, or the preparation is in vain!

May my words be shared in a way that encourages others. Like lemonade.

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Like lemonade

Leave a Reply

