Another way

Proverbs 16:9 “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” (NIV)*

IMG_0919

I thought I knew the path to choose

My plans were all in place

But unexpected circumstance

Revealed another way.

…..

Sometimes good, sometimes not

Interruptions change direction

It’s the Lord’s all-knowing hand

That seals my destination.

…..

photo and poem by Patty Perkins

…..

Ultimately, He is in control. He knows me better than I know me. He sees the hearts of others and how their lives will impact mine. He knows what the future holds. My part is to trust by placing my hand in his and taking the next step.

Proverbs 16:9 is from the May 29th reading of The One Year Bible.

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

6 responses to “Another way

  • melodylowes

    It is frighteningly easy to plan our steps and then consult Him as an after-thought…how arrogant my attitudes have been, so often. I love this sidewalk – what a pretty place to visualize when thinking about choosing the right path!

  • Caddo-Jael

    I’m trying not to get “stuck” on the part about how He knows how others lives will impact mine (because He sees their hearts). But it’s a great comfort that His hand seals my destination. God bless you–love, sis Caddo

    • Patty Perkins

      Thank you for the good word. I meant an overall “He knows the future”…can see where that could get sticky, as he does allow others to make choices. Appreciate the comment!

  • Heidi Viars

    Often I find it difficult not to lean on my own understanding … thanks so much for your reminder today … to faithfully take that next step, even when we can’t see what’s around the corner … I suppose while we walk, we acknowledge Him… He will make our paths straight 🙂 … blessings

Leave a Reply

