seed to sow

Psalm 126:6 “He who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with him.” (NIV)*

IMG_0547

With God, there’s always seed to carry to the new place. Even in sadness, walking paths we wouldn’t have chosen, there’s seed to sow in due time. Nothing need be wasted while waiting for a new normal. Even if it means watering them with tears, those buried seedlings of hope will sprout new life.

Store those seeds in a jar, tuck them away on a shelf, and nothing will grow. Plant them, water, pull the weeds and you’ll have sheaves to carry. With sheaves, you’ll be able to make bread. Bread to sustain and bread to share.

After all, it’s never really just about us…

From a dire place,

life sprouts forth.

Hope’s seed planted,

entrusted to the Lord.

……….

photo and poem by Patty Perkins

……….

Psalm 126:6 is from the June 8th reading of The One Year Bible.

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

6 responses to “seed to sow

  • melodylowes

    I see you have been learning some of those tough life lessons. I so agree about not wasting the moments – even in sorrow, there is seed to be sown. Even when slogging through the valleys, the time we spend can be profitable…

  • speakpeacealways

    Wise words! Even seeds of disappointment and pain, when placed in the Lord’s hands bring forth a harvest of righteousness and joy and peace… Yes, it is time to sow… That’s the word that keeps going round and round in my head…

  • Caddo-Jael

    Like you, I read this verse this week–but you have illumined it for me, as I was in a dark place that day. Thank you for your lovely blog, and faithfulness–God bless you BIG–love, Caddo

  • Patty Perkins

    I so appreciate your comment. It’s easier to write these kind of posts on nondark days. It’s hindsight. In the midst of it–a different story. Sometimes just hanging onto his hand is enough…the perspective comes later. You are an encouragement and your words make a difference. Thank you!

Leave a comment