when he calls

I Kings 19:21 “…He [Elisha] burned the plowing equipment to cook the meat and gave it to the people, and they ate. Then he set out to follow Elijah and became his attendant.” (NIV)*

IMG_2293 2

Elisha burned his opportunity to go back. He made a meal of the oxen. With ties cut, he left. His responsibility there was done. He asked to kiss his mother and father good-bye.

There was no praying over the decision and waiting to be sure. No seeking counsel. No counting the cost, weighing the options or listing the pros and cons.

God, through Elijah, had called Elisha. Settled. Done.

Certainly, there’s a time to pray and be sure. Most major decisions require prayer and wise counsel. Elisha seems to have been a single man, which uncomplicated his availability. If plowing ahead means scriptural principals will be compromised–that’s a waving red flag. Better reconsider.

But when you know that  you know that you know that it’s God–there’s no need to jump through needless decision making hoops.

When he calls…simply go.

……….

I Kings 19:21 is in the June 18th reading of The One Year Bible.

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “when he calls

  • melodylowes

    I think we modern believers like to leave the obedience part out. It pinches us in our independence. Good thoughts, Patty!

  • Patty Perkins

    And sometimes we over-analyze because we think we know so much. Oh, to have a faith that simply believes and obeys.

  • jaels

    I’m glad you clarified this passage for me, because I got a little confused when reading it earlier this week. I love the occasions when God’s word to me is clear, definite–and I can quickly move on it, no problem. But other times I fall into over-analyzing–not because I think I know so much–but out of fear of failing. Which is so dumb–I should know by now that God is the faithful Shepherd–if I veer off in the wrong direction by accident, He’s quite able to redirect me–and we’re good!

    • Patty Perkins

      Oh…thank you for adding that insight…the fear part. Yes, I so relate. Not wanting to make a mistake or take a wrong path. I appreciate the reminder that He is able to redirect. He even makes good out of our blunders! So glad we have a God who looks at the heart! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

