Mindful of you

Psalm 8:3-4 “When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?” (NIV)*

The Sky at Night

The Sky at Night (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When heavens stretch far,

farther than eye can see,

I wilt into a speck–

smallness wrapped ’round me

like an invisible cloak.

In a poof, I vanish–

blown away by mere breath,

leaving a measureless pinhead spot.

How could your creator thoughts ever

be drawn to this dust particle

swirling in light’s beam?

…..

Yet, because you are mindful,

I have value–

God-given worth

confirmed by Savior’s blood.

Eternal significance and purpose

born of the Holy Spirit.

If not for you I would fade–

disappear into thin air.

This is all God; this is all true–

shining big through small.

…..

I lift hands to the heavens,

fingertips touch those

that dotted the night-time skies.

Head, tilts up

to the one who looks down–

awestruck with wonder

that he put that face on the moon.

Oh, feet stand firm

on the solid ground of his word.

Let that invisible spot

be brush stroked with his life–

Color-filled with purpose.

…..

by Patty Perkins

…..

And child, be secure. Be at rest. I am mindful of you.

…..

*The One Year Bible, July 10, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

2 responses to “Mindful of you

Leave a Reply

