Understand him? No

Job 26:14 “…Who then can understand the thunder of his power?” (NIV)*

The Ocean (photo by Patty Perkins)

The Ocean (photo by Patty Perkins)

His power alludes me. But, I don’t have to understand it. Fear it? Yes. Respect it? Definitely. Stand in awe of it? Of course.

I don’t understand his ability to create and be in all things. I don’t understand his ability to wreak havoc, allow catastrophe or calm stormy seas. I don’t understand his love and faithfulness. I don’t understand him.

But I can respect and fear him in a healthy way. After all…He is God.

*The One Year Bible, August 27, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Understand him? No

Leave a Reply

