A far stretching land

Isaiah 33:16-17 “This is the man who will dwell on the heights, whose refuge will be the mountain fortress, his bread will be supplied, and water will not fail him. Your eyes will see the king in his beauty and view a land that stretches far.” (NIV)*

IMG_1641

NYC from the Empire State Building (photo by Patty Perkins)

According to the previous verse Isaiah 33:15, those getting the blessings of verses 16-17 are those who live righteously.

But how can I be righteous and know these blessings of unending bread and water, spiritually speaking? How could I possibly see the king and his far stretching land? This nature seems destined to unrighteousness. And, the Word tells us there is no one righteous.

Ahhh…but there’s the saving grace ticket. Jesus came to be righteousness for us. What I can not be, he is. That’s what Jesus is all about. So…I cling to him. He is my righteousness. And so then:

Glimpses of the king I see

upon his glorious throne

and the land that stretches far ahead

is the land that bids me home. 

……….

by Patty Perkins

……….

*The One Year Bible, September 20, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a comment