A good place to be

Jeremiah 36:24 “The king and all his attendants who heard all these words showed no fear, nor did they tear their clothes.” (NIV)*

Firepit (photo by Patty Perkins)

Firepit (photo by Patty Perkins)

The same fire that warmed King Jehoiakim’s body burned the words that could have saved his life. As the scroll was read, the king cut off those portions and threw them into the firepot…until the entire scroll was burned. King Jehoiakim showed no fear towards the word of God Jeremiah had sent to him.

The heart too hardened to receive is in a scary place—when the word doesn’t bring a twinge of fear or inspire respect for its author. I’m referring to a disdain for God’s Word…not dry spells here and there.

If I read the word and it brings remorse—that’s a good thing. That’s the word doing its job. Hebrews 4:12 tells us: “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” (NIV)

Be encouraged if reading the word brings conviction or evokes a desire to change. Those emotions reveal a soft heart towards God and his word…and that’s a good place to be.

*The One Year Bible, October 20, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(And advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

2 responses to “A good place to be

  • Caddo

    Wonderful word, Patty–if you recall, I’m reading along with you in this same great Bible; and once again, when I got to that part in Jeremiah, my mouth just dropped open in shock (even though I’ve read it a bunch of times before). Wouldn’t you have thought, as he’s tossing those pages, that his spirit would have been pierced with conviction? I think of the bad old days, before I was on track with God, when I’d do anything rebellious I could truly feel a physical shriveling inside me. A slow-learner is an understatement for what I was, and I can only credit the Lord for His unfailing love and endless patience in looking after me till I caught the revelation. Praise the Name of Jesus Forever. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

  • Patty Perkins

    Thank you for sharing your story! God is faithful. So glad you’re reading along The One Year Bible…I bring but one perspective and I treasure when others add their thoughts as well! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

