Bringing obedience

Jonah 4:1-3 “But Jonah was greatly displeased and became angry. He prayed to the Lord, ‘O Lord, is this not what I said when I was still at home? That is why I was so quick to flee to Tarshish.  I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God…'”*

IMG_2423

Jonah eventually did what God wanted him to do, but still had no heart for the people. Yet, he did obey. He was God’s voice piece and God brought the heart change—repentance and forgiveness came to the Ninevites.

Even after the Ninevites turned to God, Jonah wasn’t concerned for them. But, he had done what God asked him to do and played his part in their redemption.

How often do I think I have to wait for 100% right motivation and heart to act? If God says go, I’m to go. If he calls, I’m to answer. He brings the change in the hearts of the people…

We bring our obedience and God does the rest.

*The One Year Bible, December 14, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Bringing obedience

  • Caddo

    Oh I REALLY appreciate this word today, Sister! It’s not about my feelings, it’s just about being obedient–and He is responsible for the outcome/results. That is very freeing to me. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    • Patty Perkins

      I so appreciate your kind words…thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      • Caddo

        I have a PS to this–today God afforded me the opportunity to practice your lesson. I gave away a turkey I won in a raffle to a neighbor whom I have only heartfelt resentment toward (terrible true confession, I know). I didn’t have to like her, or want to bless her, I just had to be obedient–and the beauty part, is that I have no expectations regarding the results of my gesture. I did my part, the rest is up to God. I feel so free. Thank you for this perfectly-timed word.

  • Patty Perkins

    Wow! That’s so cool and an inspiration to me. What a great example of bringing obedience. Thank you for sharing your story! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

