An invitation

Matthew 1:23″…and they will call him Immanuel—which means, ‘God with us.'”*

IMG_2433

God is with us. Christmas celebrates the fact that God came to be with us…through his son, Jesus. Looking ahead to this new year—his presence gives hope to hang on to. Cling to that rope of truth this year.

And may I invite you to join me on a trek through The One Year Bible? Each day’s reading, January 1 – December 31, includes a portion of the Old Testament, New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs. At the end of the year, you’ve read through the entire Bible, and the Psalms twice.

The One Year Bible works for me because I don’t have to decide what to read each day. I just open up and read. Also, I’m not legalistic about it. There are days I skim the Old Testament portion—or skip it completely. It’s set up so you can make it work for you by choosing to read through one section, such as the New Testament. Or, if you did just the Proverbs…at the end of the year you’ve read through Proverbs.

Don’t let perfectionism suffocate…the goal is to get the word into your life. The One Year Bible police won’t come to your door!

Most days I write something that stands out to me in my journal. I edit, process and post some of my entries on this blog. (Many remain drafts.) Sometimes I share a devotional thought, sometimes a poem or maybe a prayer. I strive to be theologically correct…but as I mentioned on my disclaimer page, “I reserve the right to be wrong.”

Consider yourself invited on a life changing journey through God’s Word in 2014. As those gifts sat under the tree waiting to be opened…treasures sit waiting, wrapped in the pages of God’s Word.

Proverbs 1:5 “Let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance.”*

*The One Year Bible, January 1, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

The One Year Bible is available online through YouVersion, www.bible.com.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

2 responses to “An invitation

  • Caddo

    This is wonderful–and you know I’ll be reading along with you again this year. I must tell a story on myself: yesterday I, of course, came to the end–but when I went to turn to the next page to mark it, I was disconcerted for a moment. “Is that it? Where’s the next portion?” And then I realized it was time to start over at the front again! In addition to this one, I have a One Year Chronological Bible that I use everyday–just can’t get enough of God’s Word. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

Leave a Reply

