One who sees

Genesis 16:13 “She [Hagar] gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: ‘You are the God who sees me,’ for she said, ‘I have now seen the One who sees me.'” *

Hagar ran away after being mistreated by Sarai and now, God comforts her. She can return to her situation with confidence in the God who sees and cares for her. God has a plan for Hagar and her yet-to-be-born son, Ishmael.

Not only did God see Hagar, he saw the child in her womb and referred to him as a “wild donkey of a man…he will live in hostility toward all his brothers” (verse 12). Ishmael’s destiny was already in place.

…..

IMG_2267One who sees

do take my hand

give strength to return

to a hostile land,

where powers greater

than i have their way

and destiny bends

to divinity’s sway.

…..

by Patty Perkins

…..

*The One Year Bible, January 7, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “One who sees

  • Caddo

    What a terrific poem, Patty. As I read the same portion today, I was perplexed again by the humans’ various reactions–but so comforted by “the God Who knows me” part. I think that’s why I’m feeling so calm right now–I have an intimate relationship with the God Who is unknowable in His vastness, yet He knows and cares “in detail” about me. It’s amazing, and I’m just going to rest in that for the moment. May He bless and prosper you.

    • Patty Perkins

      Thank you, Caddo. There’s so much I don’t understand; the Old Testament is full of stories that don’t play out like I think they “should”. Like you, I’m trusting in the One who sees. Have a blessed day.

  • Heidi Viars

    What a comfort to know that He sees, right into those secret places of our doubting hearts! Thank you so much for this wonderful poem!

Leave a Reply

