Like a pillar of salt

Genesis 19:26 “But Lot’s wife looked back and she became a pillar of salt.”*

IMG_2458

Kentucky fence row (photo by Patty Perkins)

I had mixed emotions about the last move. I spent the first few years yearning for what felt like home. I wanted the familiar.

Looking back left me stuck…much like a pillar of salt. I’m not a quick nest leaver or root puller-upper. I went through the actions of settling in but my emotions were stuck on the past even though God had led us to a great place with much to offer.

If I’m looking back I’m not looking forward. It’s easy to get stuck in the in-between desert, for my body to be here and my heart—there. To wallow in regrets, if only and what if. To be caught in the old and not embrace the new.

Certainly, there’s a time to grieve the past and learn from it. Then, it’s time to move on. To entrust life to the Lord and outcomes into his more than capable hands. It may be a daily letting go at first.

I remember driving through this new place a year or so ago and the thought hit me that this really is a neat town. It was as if he replied to me—then why not just enjoy it. And…why not? It’s time to embrace the present.

*The One Year Bible, January 8, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Like a pillar of salt

  • melodylowes

    Change is so hard – but often opens the door to new adventures! Wise lady…

  • Dixie

    This reminded me of our move to Chattanooga. I sat on the steps of her upper deck looking out at the wooded back of our lot. I asked God, “Why did you bring us here? I don’t have any friends.” He said, “You have me. You can tell me anything and not worry that I will tell”
    Well, He always has been and always will be my best Friend!

    • Patty Perkins

      Aunt Dixie!!!! Hey, we share the same best friend:) I remember your Chattanooga house and loved visiting there. So appreciate your walk of faith and example to us all…please drop by Beside Quiet Waters again…I’ll leave the porch light on for you!

Leave a Reply

