Unhidden

Matthew 25:25 “So I was afraid, and went out and hid your talent in the ground…”*

IMG_2664

Fruit hidden in snow (photo by Patty Perkins)

Wasn’t burying that coin in the ground a good thing? The servant was protecting it from being lost. When his master returned he still had it to give back.

That coin was given to the servant to be invested. To multiply. It was merely a seed meant to be planted to grow fruit for the master. The servant was afraid…so he hid it.

That is so me. For so long I have written journal upon journal upon journal. Poem after poem after poem. Storing them in boxes. Stacking them in piles. Hidden. Who would want to read this stuff? I’m afraid of rejection so I’ll keep this tucked away. Who am I to put it out there?

God has been gracious to provide writing opportunities through my church blog and here, too. It’s a step of faith to put it out there. To let him have his way with growing the seeds—that’s his part. I’ll do my part and share; he causes seeds to grow. Maybe I’ll know results and maybe I won’t. But this blog is a way to invest what he gives. A way to scatter seeds.

Thank you WordPress, for providing a place to share. Thank you, reader, for being a huge part of the process.

Here are my seeds…unhidden.

*The One Year Bible, February 7, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Unhidden

Leave a Reply

