How to fish

Mark 1:16-18 “As Jesus walked beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. ‘Come, follow me,’ Jesus said, ‘and I will make you fishers of men.’ At once they left their nets and followed him.”*

My son fishing, Barren River Lake, Kentucky (photo by Patty Perkins)

My son fishing, Barren River Lake, Kentucky (photo by Patty Perkins)

…..

Jesus would train them to fish for man,

in ways they could understand.

…..

Where to drop the choicest bait,

when to just sit and patiently wait.

……

How to pull the loaded net in,

without breaking string worn thin.

…..

When to persistently keep up the pace,

then withdraw to a quiet place.

…..

The disciples would learn to fish God’s way,

by following Jesus in the everyday.

…..

by Patty Perkins

…..

*The One Year Bible, February 15, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

6 responses to “How to fish

Leave a Reply

