Heaven on a tray


image

…..

Would I laugh like Sarai,

listening from her tent?

Or question like Zechariah,

at the altar of incense?

…..

If impossible were promised

from a holy silver tray

would I in faith believe, or

facing reality, push heaven away?

…..

by Patty Perkins

…..

Believing is a big deal. Sarai laughed (Genesis 18:12) when she overheard that she would have a child. Zechariah questioned Gabriel—the very angel who stands in God’s presence! (see Luke 1:20 below.)

Yet, facing reality is a big deal too. God gives us common sense, logic and a brain to use. Maybe it depends on who’s holding the tray…is it God, or our own desires?

Life is certainly no silver platter for anyone. It’s just not that easy. But if there were ever a too-good-to-be-true offer this is it: He paid the price on a gruesome cross and now offers his life…on an underserved, holy silver tray.

Luke 1:20 “And now you will be silent and not able to speak until the day this happens, because you did not believe my words, which will come true at their proper time.”*

*The One Year Bible, March 13, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

(Any advertisements shown are not from me.)

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Heaven on a tray

  • heavenlyraindrops

    Terrific and very thought-provoking. May I never be one to trade the heavenly for the finite. Blessings

  • Widow Beach

    I’m afraid I would have been like Sarai–but thankfully, I accepted God’s salvation without questioning the too-good-to-be-true aspect. Until 3 years ago, though, I still had trouble at Easter–I’d get terribly weighed down, depressed by the unfairness of Jesus dying for me. What remains now is that I’m humbled anew, and frequently. God bless you.

    • Patty Perkins

      I have to think being humbled anew is a good thing. I’ve always wondered what I would do if Jesus wanted to wash my feet like he did the disciples. My first reaction would be to not let him. How much more to accept his sacrifice on the cross. Pride has to go…it takes being humbled anew…you’re right:) Thank you.

Leave a Reply

