Ahead of the crowd

“He wanted to see who Jesus was, but being a short man he could not because of the crowd. So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore-fig tree to see him, since Jesus was coming that way.” Like 19:3-4*

DSC_0165 (1)

Zaccheus wanted to see Jesus but he was a short man and couldn’t see over the crowd. That didn’t stop him; he found a work around. He ran ahead of the crowd, climbed a sycamore tree and waited for Jesus to pass by. He intentionally put himself in a spot to see Jesus.

What stands in our way of seeing Jesus? For Zaccheus it was the crowd. Is it being too busy? Too tired? Work conflicts? Family opposition?

Like Zaccheus, we have to look for a way to get ahead of the crowd. Maybe it’s getting up 15 minutes earlier to read the Bible, finding a church service time that works, joining a Bible study or making time to pray. Maybe it’s leaving a crowd that blocks the view.

Be proactive. Get ahead of the towering crowd and find a place to see Jesus. And He’ll see you as he passes by…

“When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, ‘Zaccheus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.'” Luke 19:5*

…..

All I wanted

was to see Jesus pass by.

But the crowd

towered too high.

Running ahead

I climbed a sycamore tree.

I saw Jesus,

and He saw me!

Now He’s coming

to my house today,

not simply passing by

He’s here to stay.

…..

photo and poem by Patty Perkins

…..

*The One Year Bible, April 18, NIV, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois

Any advertisements shown are not from me.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

One response to “Ahead of the crowd

Leave a Reply

