God’s got this

“He does not fear bad news, nor live in dread of what may happen. For he is settled in his mind that Jehovah will take care of him.” Psalm 112:7 (Living)

IMG_0817

Dread hangs like a heavy dark cloud that may or may not release rain. It specializes in blocking out the sun. Living in dread of what could happen zaps spiritual strength and is a waste of mental energy.

One day of dread added to another, and then another, can result in a lifetime of hovering dark clouds.

I thought it was good to be prepared for the worst. How do I step out of this brooding, foreboding mindset and stop fearing bad news that could happen?

Regardless of what happens or doesn’t happen, God will take care of me. If I need to make adjustments, He’ll let me know. If the bottom falls out, He’s got me. If relationships are strained, He’ll walk with me through the difficult situation.

If I’m settled in my mind that God will take care of me, dread has no place to take hold.

Now then, be settled. God’s got this.

…..

Where will you go, thoughts of dread–

fears that race like thoroughbreds through my worry-prone head?

If thoughts are bridled and assured of your sovereign care,

where, tell me where, will worries then tread?

…..

Any advertisements shown are not from me.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

