Face the wall

Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord…” 2 Kings 20:2

IMG_3943

When Hezekiah heard that he would die, he turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord. He wept bitterly. God heard his prayer and answered, allowing him to live another 15 years.

Hezekiah went to the right place when he needed help. He turned to face the wall and prayed.

What’s my first reaction to distressing news? Do I take it to the Lord?

May my first response be to face the wall.

Lord, be my first thought. The immediate inclination of my heart. When distress looms and despair grips, may my first reaction be to turn to you. And there, honestly and openly, let me confess the fears and anxieties, disappointments and frustrations, entrusting the battle, the crisis, whatever the news…to you.

……

Any advertisements shown are not from me.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

