The sound of marching

As soon as you hear the sound of marching in the tops of the balsam trees, move out to battle, because that will mean God has gone out in front of you…” I Chronicles 14:15

DSC_0634

Over David’s head, the sound of marching pounds on a floor of air. God’s army is on the move—going out to the battle in front of David’s army. David got to hear what was happening in the unseen realm.

Did the tops of the trees wave as if blown by a heavy wind? Did it sound as if the sky would cave in and angel armies crash to the ground?

God had told David to move out to battle when he heard the sound of marching in the balsam trees. Imagine David on high-alert, listening.

Oh, the sounds we never hear, the sights we fail to see because we are not listening, or looking, for God to act.

Lord, when I call for help may I be quick to look for your response and recognize it when I see it. I don’t want to miss the ways you move in front of me.

Yes…He still marches ahead.


Any advertisements shown are not from me.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

