When God interrupts

And the priests could not perform their service because of the cloud, for the glory of the Lord filled the temple of God.” 2 Chronicles 5:14

DSC_0764 (1)

The glory of the Lord filled the temple in the form of a cloud. Did the priests fall on their faces in adoration, or inwardly fume because their day was interrupted? Were they upset because they couldn’t serve God?

Sometimes God shows up unexpectedly. Life is interrupted and my plans have to change. What appears to be a hindrance, or road block to my goals, could be divine intervention. It may be of God when I can’t do what I want to do, even if it’s something I wanted to do for Him.

He is not so concerned with my service and to-do list as He is my heart and its inclination to His will and timing. How many times has He intervened and I’ve missed Him, right in front of my face?

Lord, when you show up in all your glory don’t let me miss it! When my plans are divinely interrupted help me to recognize your presence in the moment, and then to bend, to accommodate the glory of the Lord.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

