When you’d like to give up

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer and enables me to stand on the heights.” Psalm 18:33

IMG_4102

Steep inclines and switchbacks can make climbing a challenge. The journey becomes discouraging when there’s no end in sight. If the hike grows difficult, it’s easy to wonder if the view is going to be worth it. And is this even the right trail?

A challenging climb doesn’t mean it’s the wrong path. Hard journeys teach lessons and perspective not gained by taking the easy road. Difficult situations change us. We become stronger. We learn where to stand and how to keep our footing. We discover how to keep going when we can’t see around the next bend, and hopefully, we learn from our mistakes.

The Lord gives guidance in the midst of long and difficult treks. He wants to strengthen us when we’re weak. He longs to encourage when we’d like to sit down and give up. He enables us to stand in places we wouldn’t be able to stand alone.

And maybe that’s the thing. I can’t do it on my own. He enables me to put one foot in front of the other and keep going when I’d like to quit.

And oh, that he would train me to stand on the heights, that I might know his perspective and catch a glimpse of his view.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

2 responses to “When you’d like to give up

Leave a Reply

