The difference maker

For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” 2 Chronicles 14:16

DSC_0762

The small country church I attended as a child didn’t have air-conditioning in those early years. Hot summer days and nights found us cooling off with open windows and hand-held paper fans. On one of those fans, I remember a picture of an angelic-looking girl kneeling with hands folded in prayer.

That little girl’s image captures my idea of one who is fully committed: constant in prayer, sinless, unaffected by the world and all while serving others. She’s too much! My life doesn’t match up.

But when the Lord is searching for hearts fully committed to him, as in II Chronicles 14:16, I’d like to be found faithful and don’t want to miss out. I’d like to be in the receiving line for his strength.

Am I going to be skipped over because I fall short of some ideal? He knows I’m not perfect, and no one is, so how can anyone be worthy of receiving anything from him? There is a gap between who I am and who I want to be.

This separation reminds me of the father who pleaded for Jesus to heal his son of an evil spirit—if he could. Jesus told him that everything is possible for the one who believes. “Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, ‘I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!'” Mark 9:24

Jesus healed the son. He made up the difference where the father fell short.

Likewise, he makes up the difference for me. There’s no way I can be a 100% fully-committed all the time. I’m human. But, I know the one who fills the gap.

Lord, strengthen me today and where I fall short, be the difference maker.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

