Redeemer

“The Lord redeems his servants; no one will be condemned who takes refuge in him.” Psalm 34:22

IMG_5122

I handed the coupon to the cashier and waited for the thrill of getting three dollars off my purchase. There’s a felt high in seeing the amount due drop. She handed the coupon back to me and pointed out that the coupon wouldn’t be good until the next day. Ugh. I paid and left with a sinking sensation.

Christ stands ready to redeem whatever, whenever we hand it over to him. The life secured with Christ has been exchanged for a new life.

And there’s more. Every mistake and every situation can be turned in for His redemption. He is in the business of recycling disappointments and making something beautiful of them. He is a redeemer.

Being a follower of Christ doesn’t mean we’re perfect or that life doesn’t happen. But in Christ we have a place to turn in life’s disappointments—whatever has happened can be laid at the cross and salvaged by the Lord. He is able to work all things for good.

And once handed over to him, he’ll not hand it back!

Lord, thank you for being my redeemer. I am secured forever with you. I lay the life situations that weigh me down at the cross for your redemption. Amen.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

