Hope for the inside

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.” 2 Corinthians 4:16

IMG_4095

A friend of mine calls jogging “wogging,” a mixture of walking and jogging. My wogging style is a slow sad trot—when the weather’s nice!

As much as I might huff and puff, there’s no way around it. This physical body is not what it used to be and I’m on the downhill slide.

Missing a few weeks of wogging means I’ll have to build up again when I resume my routine; I can’t just jump back in at the same level. Fight it all you want but there’s no way to stop aging, even with exercise and a healthy diet.

Inwardly, it’s a different story. There’s hope for the inside. The inside can be renewed day by day. He refreshes the spirit. He gives love, joy and peace. When I let him, he restores a thankful spirit. I don’t have to stay stuck in a bad attitude.

So, how am I taking care of the inside? Am I taking time to exercise the prayer life? Am I consuming a healthy mental diet? Daily servings of God’s Word bring spiritual strength. Weekly worship refreshes the spirit.

The outside is going to give out completely one day, but the inside will live forever. Take care of the outside, but focus on the inside!

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

4 responses to “Hope for the inside

Leave a Reply

