God on our side

Devise your strategy, but it will be thwarted; propose your plan, but it will not stand, for God is with us.” Isaiah 8:10image

Long, long ago and in a land far away…my high school wasn’t characterized as winning. Our sports’ teams weren’t bad, it’s just that other schools dominated and claimed the titles. They always seemed to have the edge. In the kingdom of sports, we were the lesser kingdom.

Flash ahead to my son’s high school and it was a different story. A winning culture prevaled throughout the entire school. Students carried a positive attitude into every event; they expected to win and much of the time, they did. They were knights in shining armor.

As believer’s in Christ we have God on our side. We wear his armor into daily battles and fight with his weapons. Though life is full of ups and downs, in the end, God wins.

More often than I’d like to admit, I forget whose team I’m on and a defeated attitude enshrouds the day. This is not from God; it’s from the enemy. The defeated one would like me to live as if he still has a chance to win the game.

Life may be a day-to-day battle, but there is hope knowing that at the end of the story…God wins.

We’re on the winning side of the field. The battle is already won—the reel is just playing out until the end of the game!

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

