One who knows

“Each heart knows its own bitterness and no one else can share its joy.” Proverbs 14:10

Maybe it’s time to take unrealistic expectations off other people. No matter how well I try to explain what I’m going through to others, they’ll never completely know how I feel. They can’t, and that’s okay, because God knows.

He sees every detail of my life. He knows every twinge and hurt endured along the way. I can come to him with my need for mercy, healing and peace.

He knows the thrill when something good happens. Others may get it to an extent, but there is one who understands completely.

Yes, we share with others. We tell the griefs, share the joys and listen to theirs. We carry each others burdens the best we can. But if I’m looking for another person to fully get it and understand, my search is going to be futile.

Here is my comfort: “But he knows the way that I take … ” Job 23:10

There is One who knows and may He keep you in His tender care.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading, and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 31 years and we have two college-age sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a Reply

