The Lord Sees

Genesis 29:35 “She [Leah] conceived again, and when she gave birth to a son she said, ‘This time I will praise the Lord.’ So she named him Judah…” (NIV)*

IMG_0391

Leah, did you feel a pawn,

A scapegoat sacrificed with no regret?

Scheming hands showed no mercy

To your own needs languishing, unmet.

………………..

Love’s hunger kept you trying

To get what you could never own.

Whatever you gave would never be enough

Though with him, you stayed very much, alone.

………………..

Was it relief to look to the God of heaven

And quit hoping in man on earth?

Praises to the One who saw you there,

Placing you in the lineage of divinity’s birth.

………………..

photo and poem by Patty Perkins

Genesis 29:30 “…he [Jacob] loved Rachel more than Leah…” (NIV)*

*The One Year Bible, New International Version, copyright 1986, Tyndale House Publishers, Wheaton, Illinois.

About Patty Perkins

I'm Patty, writer of the devotional blog, Beside Quiet Waters. I love writing, reading and taking long walks with my camera. I've been married to my loving husband for 32 years and we have two grown sons. I am thankful for a place to spill ink, in hopes of encouraging others to find daily hope and inspiration in God's Word. View all posts by Patty Perkins

Leave a comment